ADA
Translate this page:
View Disclaimer
discovery facilitator program

The purpose of the Discovery Facilitator Program (DFP) is to allow parties and counsel to resolve discovery disputes in a manner that is more cost-effective, efficient, and participant-controlled than a standard discovery motion, and that avoids the risk of sanctions inherent in formal discovery motion practice.

Parties to a discovery dispute may stipulate to use the Program either before or after a formal motion is filed. If the discovery conference will be held prior to the filing of a discovery motion, parties are encouraged to use the sample Stipulation for Participation in Discovery Facilitation Program, which can be found here.

No later than noon two court days before the Facilitation, the parties must provide the Facilitator either a joint statement, limited to no more than three pages, briefly discussing the issues to be addressed, or a joint table outlining the discovery issues. A template for the table may be found here. No exhibits may be attached to the brief or the table. The purpose of the brief/table is to provide the Facilitator with an overview of the outstanding discovery disputes. Counsel and/or parties with full authority to resolve the discovery issue(s) must personally attend the Facilitation.

The Facilitator will attempt to resolve the dispute by telephone or via videocall. If a resolution is reached, it will be memorialized in a stipulation that parties will file with the Court.

Participation in the Program is not a prerequisite to filing a formal motion, but may be considered by the Court in determining if the “meet and confer” requirement has been met, and on the issue of sanctions.

To schedule a Discovery Facilitation, please contact one of the Facilitators listed below. As in the case of the Court’s Rule 4 Early Settlement Conference, a Facilitator will donate up to three hours of their time, following which the parties and the Facilitator may negotiate compensation for additional time unless the Facilitator waives any fee. Unlike mediation, it is not confidential.

Discovery Facilitators

Robert Allard, Esq.
Corsiglia, McMahon and Allard, LLP
(408) 289-1417 
rallard@cmalaw.net 
https://www.cmalaw.net

Dania M. Baker
Alvarenga Law
(408) 289-1701 
dania@alvarengalaw.com 

Kevin C. Bedolla
The Law Office Of Kevin C. Bedolla
(408) 313-9817 
kevin@kcbedolla.com 

Gowon Song Burns
Law Office of G.S. Burns
(408) 352-5357 
gowon@gsbfamilylaw.com 

James P. Collins
The Boccardo Law Firm
Direct: (408) 975-5914 
Cell: (650) 678-6484 
jcollins@boccardo.com 
https://www.boccardo.com/

Jil Dalesandro
Law and Mediation Offices of Jil Dalesandro
(408) 243-6655 
jildalesandrolaw@comcast.net 
http://www.jildalesandrolaw.com

Ron Digesti
Digesti Mediation & ADR Services
(408) 606-5001 
rondigesti@gmail.com 

Nathalie Ferro
Law Office of Nathalie Ferro
(408) 799-8149 
natferro@familycenteredlaw.com 

Patrick Hammon
McManis Faulkner
(408) 279-8700 
phammon@mcmanislaw.com 

Moira Hogan
Law Offices of Maynard & Hogan
(408) 293-8500 
moira@maynardhoganlaw.com 

Perry Irvine
Law Offices Of Perry A. Irvine
(650) 906-7279 
pirvine94301@yahoo.com 

Andrea Justo
Hoover Krepelka, LLP
(408) 947-7600 
andrea@hooverkrepelka.com 

Diana Kruze
(415) 359-7104 
dianakruze@gmail.com 
https://www.adrbydiana.com/

James McManis
McManis Faulkner
(408) 279-8700 
jmcmanis@mcmanislaw.com 

Jackie Nakamura
Nakamura Law
(617) 510-4690 
jackien@jnnlaw.com 

Bonnie M. Ross
Messner Reeves LLP
(408) 792-5927 
bross@messner.com 

Michael M. Shea, Jr.
SHEA & SHEA
(408) 292-2434 
(831) 620-1212 
(888) 989-SHEA 
mmsjr@shea-shea.com 
https://www.shea-shea.com/

Mark Shem
Borton Petrini LLP
(408) 535-0870 
mshem@bortonpetrini.com 

Cecelia Soboleski
Law Office of Cecelia Soboleski
(408) 370-6140 
cecelia@csoboleskilaw.com 

Kevin Thurber
Thurber Law Office
(650) 212-7252 
Kevin@ThurberLawOffice.com 

April Walsh
The Law Offices of April Lin Walsh
(408) 410-9102 
aprilwalshesq@yahoo.com 

© 2021 Superior Court of California, County of Santa Clara