ADA
Traffic School

Click on a topic to learn about traffic school:

  1. Who is eligible?
  2. Who is not eligible?
  3. What are the advantages of attending school?
  4. How do I register for traffic school?
  5. Where is the school?
  6. Online traffic school
  7. What does it cost?
  8. How long do I have to complete traffic school?
  9. How do I tell the Court that I have finished traffic school?
  1. Who is eligible:

    Generally, you can go to traffic school if:
     
    • you have a valid driver’s license and
    • your ticket is for an infraction that is a moving violation and
    • you have not attended traffic school for an eligible violation that occurred within the last 18 months

    You cannot go to traffic school for equipment or non-moving violations. For more information regarding eligibility, see California Rule of Court Rule 4.104 .

  2. Who is not eligible:

    You cannot go to school for any:

    • Equipment or non-moving violation
    • Misdemeanor
    • Violation that has a mandatory Court appearance
    • Alcohol related violation
    • If you hold a commercial driver's license and were driving a commercial vehicle

    For more information regarding eligibility, see California Rule of Court 4.104 .

    The California Vehicle Code (see section VC42005 on this state code page ) states that drivers with a commercial driver's license can only attend traffic school if they were not driving a commercial vehicle. Upon completion, the record of conviction will not be held confidential, but the conviction will not add a point count to the DMV record. Drivers with a commercial driver's license are responsible for contacting the DMV Driver Safety Unit at (916) 657-6452  after completion of traffic school, to insure that the DMV does not assess the point against their record.

  3. (Effective July 1, 2011, legislation removed the authority for courts to order completion of a 12-hour or Level II traffic school for purposes of masking the conviction at DMV.)

  4. What are the advantages of attending school?

    If you are eligible for traffic school, hold a non-commercial driver's license and successfully complete traffic school, the Court will notify DMV of a conviction that will be kept confidential. It will not show on your public record, nor will the point be assessed to your DMV record.

    If you hold a commercial driver's license and you were not driving a commercial vehicle, the record of conviction will not be held confidential but the conviction will not add a point count to your DMV record.

  5. How do I register for traffic school?

    First Step:

    You need to pay the Court the "Amount Due for Traffic School" on your courtesy notice. Then the Court will send you an "Agreement to Attend Driver Improvement School." Once you have that document, you may register to attend a California DMV approved traffic school. Check the DMV website for listings: go to the DMV Occupational License website , and after clicking the "Start Search" button and after the disclaimer, select "Traffic School List" from the dropdown. Proceed from there according to the instructions on the site.

    There is a fee that the school charges, which is separate from what you pay to the Court for traffic school.

    You can pay the Court for traffic school in person, by mail, by phone or online:  

    • In person

      Go to any of the traffic courthouses. Pay the "Amount Due for Traffic School" shown on your courtesy notice. The clerk will give you the "Agreement to Attend Driver Improvement School" that you need to before you register at a California DMV approved traffic school.

    • By mail

      Mail the Court a letter asking for traffic school. Include payment for the amount in the box labeled "Amount Due for Traffic School" on your courtesy notice. (Pay ONLY the amount in the "Amount Due for Traffic School." Do not, for example, pay for both the bail forfeiture amount due and the traffic school amount due.)

      When the Court gets your request for traffic school, you will be mailed the "Agreement to Attend Driver Improvement School" that you need before you register at a California DMV approved traffic school. If you do not receive your "Agreement to Attend Driver Improvement School" within 3 weeks of mailing your payment, please contact the Court.

    • By phone or online

      Use the Court’s automated system (see Paying Fines). You may pay with Visa,  Master Card, Electronic Fund Transfer, or Debit Card. You will also have to pay a convenience fee.

      When the Court gets your request for traffic school, you will be mailed the "Agreement to Attend Driver Improvement School" that you need before you register at a California DMV approved traffic school. If you do not receive your "Agreement to Attend Driver Improvement School" within 3 weeks of mailing your payment, please contact the Court.
    Second Step:

    Once you have the "Agreement to Attend Driver Improvement School" document from the Court, you can register for traffic school. Check the DMV website for listings: go to the DMV Occupational License website , and after clicking the "Start Search" button and after the disclaimer, select "Traffic Violator School Provider" from the dropdown. Proceed from there according to the instructions on the site.

  6. Where is the school?

    The school you attend must be a California DMV approved school. See a list by starting at the DMV Occupational License website .

  7. Online Traffic School

    You can take classes online, but you must pay the "Amount Due for Traffic School" shown on your Courtesy Notice to the Court first. (See How do I register for Traffic School? for information on paying the Court.) Once you have the "Agreement to Attend Driver Improvement School" sent by the Court, check the list of schools on the DMV website.

    The school you attend must be a California DMV approved school. Check the DMV website for listings: DMV Occupational License website .

  8. What does it cost?

    All traffic schools will ask you to pay a fee. This is in addition to the administrative fee you pay to the Court. The amount depends on the school you choose.

  9. How long do I have to complete traffic school?

    If you go to Court and the Commissioner says you can go to traffic school, the Commissioner will also order a deadline for you to complete traffic school. The deadline will be on the order you get in Court.

    If you do not go to Court, you must pay the traffic school fee to the Court by the due date on your ticket or courtesy notice. Your completion date will be noted on the traffic school agreement form that you receive from the court. In most cases you must complete within 60 days from the date you pay the Court.

  10. How do I tell the Court that I have finished traffic school?

    Provided that you attended a California DMV approved Traffic School, there is nothing further for you to do. The California DMV approved Traffic School will notify the Court of your completion. (Note: if you did not attend a California DMV approved Traffic School, the Court will not accept your proof of completion.)
© 2014 Superior Court of California, County of Santa Clara